George Burke Maxey Fellowship

About the George Burke Maxey Fellowship

The George Burke Maxey Fellowship is a one-year award given to a current or incoming DRI graduate research assistant who is enrolled either in the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Water Resources Management (WRM), or University of Nevada, Reno Graduate Program in Hydrologic Sciences (GPHS) pursuing discretionary research in water resources that will serve as the basis of his/her/their Master’s thesis or Ph.D. dissertation.

This Fellowship was established through an endowment by Elizabeth West Stout, a paleontologist and trustee emerita of the DRI Research Foundation, who knew George Burke Maxey as a friend and colleague.

The basis of the Fellowship award is a competitive proposal outlining the proposed research and work plan. The proposals will be evaluated by DRI Division of Hydrologic Sciences faculty on the basis of the following criteria: originality, completeness, documentation, professionalism, assessment of the prospects for successful completion of the research, and contribution to the science. The student’s standing in the program may also be taken into account.

The proposal should not exceed 10 pages of double-spaced text (figures, tables, title page, and references do not count towards the 10-page limit). Suggested guidelines for proposal format include:

  • A title page including the name of your advisor and the name of the fellowship;
  • An introduction to the problem, including hypotheses that you have formulated;
  • A description of the objectives of the proposed work;
  • A description of the scope of work;
  • Anticipated results, and potential benefits (to both scientific and broader communities);
  • A timeline for the work;
  • A complete list of referenced work;
  • Figures and tables; and
  • Font size shall not be less than 10-point throughout and margins must be at least one inch on all sides.

Applicants must be a current or incoming DRI graduate research assistant with a DHS Faculty member serving as their principal advisor. A student receiving this award is, by definition, a DRI graduate research assistant.  The Fellowship is to be used to complete the research proposed in the Fellowship application. Acceptance of the Fellowship precludes similar significant research support from any division of the University of Nevada during the period of the Fellowship. Other funding sources can be paused during the Fellowship period and then restarted at completion of the Fellowship. A student may win this award only once per degree.

A letter of support from the student’s principal advisor, which should include a statement indicating the anticipated level of participation by the DHS Faculty member, must be included with the proposal. This letter of support must also outline plans for the student’s continued funding beyond the end of the Maxey Fellowship, if applicable.

The award will be distributed by DRI in the form of a monthly stipend. The recipient will receive the benefits of a DRI Research Assistant during the 12-month period of the fellowship, including office space at DRI and use of the Institute’s computer and laboratory facilities.

Submission and More Information

Proposals must be submitted electronically in a single PDF document to Maria Vasquez by May 1 to:

Maria Vasquez
Desert Research Institute
Division of Hydrologic Sciences
2215 Raggio Parkway
Reno, Nevada 89512

Reno:  775-673-7979

2021 Marc J. Berghouse
2020 Joshua Culpepper
2019 Ahdee Zeidman
2018 Kayla Neuharth
2017 Khaled Pordel
2016 Xueke Yang
2015 N/A
2014 Laura Craig / Jamie Myers
2013 Noah Fraser
2012 Jackson Crews
2011 Mustafa Eissa / Zach Johnson
2010 Hal Voepel / David Smith
2009 William Meyer
2008 Margaret Shanafield
2007 N/A
2006 Farag Botros
2005 Christopher Shope
2004 N/A
2003 Donald M. Reeves
2002 Marija Grabasnjak
2001 Mark B. Green
2000 Matt Herrick
1999 Sean Kosinski
1998 William D. Howcroft
1997 David Eric Harlow
1996 Angela R. Varian
1995 Hongbin Zhan
1994 David A. Benson
1993 Bwire S. Ojiambo
1992 Gregg Lamorey
1991 Steve Acheampong
1990 Michael Nicholl
1989 Sean A McKenna
1988 Lisa A Shevenell


Maria Vasquez 


Desert Research Institute
2215 Raggio Parkway
Reno, NV 89512


Hydrologic Sciences