The DRI Nevada Medal Event

The Nevada Medal

The Desert Research Institute (DRI) proudly announces the selection of Dr. Marcia McNutt, president of the National Academy of Sciences and chair of the National Research Council, as its 2017 DRI Nevada Medalist. 

Established in 1988 to acknowledge outstanding achievement in the fields of science and engineering, the DRI Nevada Medal is the highest scientific honor in the state. The 30th DRI Nevada Medal award will be presented by the DRI Foundation during events planned in Reno and Las Vegas in September, 2017.

A distinguished geophysicist, Dr. McNutt’s research focuses on marine geophysics, where she has published more than 100 peer-reviewed scientific articles and helped develop a variety of remote sensing techniques to understand the origin of clusters of volcanoes in the middle of tectonic plates. From 2013 to 2016, she served as editor-in-chief of the Science family of journals, prior to which she served as director of the U.S. Geological Survey from 2009 to 2013, during which time USGS responded to a number of major disasters, including the Deepwater Horizon oil spill. 

marciamcnutt forweb“I am grateful for the recognition of the Nevada Medal not just for all that it means to me personally, but also because it validates the concept that one can forego one’s own personal research career and still have impact through leadership and service to science and the nation,” --- Dr. Marcia McNutt

The 30th Annual DRI Nevada Medal Events  

Monday, September 25, 2017 at the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino inside the Tuscany Ballroom in Reno. 

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino inside The Joint in Las Vegas

Join us for cocktails at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m.
Dress is business attire. 

For event sponsorship information please contact Iris Stewart, President's Office at (775)673-7312

For all other event questions, contact DRI Events Coordinator, Dawn Coots at (775) 674-7555 or e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

DOWNLOAD the 2017 DRI Nevada Medal Sponsorship Brochure