print this page

Media Advisory: DRI to celebrate academic, scientific achievement at June 4th Convocation Ceremony

RENO: Media are invited to attend DRI's Annual Convocation Ceremony on Thursday, June 4, 2015 at DRI's campus in Reno. Awards will be presented to scientific researchers and graduate students on behalf of the Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents, DRI donors and individual scientific research divisions. 

The ceremony will take place on DRI's Reno campus with presentations from Regent Jason Geddes, Ph.D., as well as several members of DRI's Executive Staff.

DRI will also honor 15 graduate students from UNR and UNLV who have completed research for their Masters or Doctoral degrees at DRI. 

The ceremony will include a special presentation from longtime DRI supporter Sue Wagner, former Nevada State Senator, Lieutenant Governor and member of the Nevada Gaming Commission. Wagner will help present the Peter B. Wagner Medal of Excellence for DRI Scholars in Early Stages of Career Development and the Peter B. Wagner Memorial Award for Women in Atmospheric Sciences -- both awards in honor of her husband Peter, an atmospheric scientist at DRI who was tragically killed in a plane crash in 1980.

Media are invited to attend this special event and engage with DRI’s faculty, students and DRI Research Foundation Trustees.


   When: Thursday, June 4th - (4 p.m. – 5 p.m.)
   Where: DRI Reno Campus - 2215 Raggio Parkway
   Who: Interview and Photo Opportunities:

  • Dr. Stephen G. Wells, President of the Desert Research Institute
  • DRI Faculty and Students
  • DRI Research Foundation Trustees


  • Peter B. Wagner Medal of Excellence for DRI Scholars in the Early Stages of Career Development Award – Rishi Parashar, Ph.D.
  • Peter B. Wagner Memorial Award for Women in Atmospheric Sciences – Laura Kreidberg
  • NSHE Rising Researcher Award – Amanda Keen-Zebert, Ph.D.
  • Colin Warden Memorial Endowment Award – Nina Oakley
  • Jonathan O. Davis Scholarship in Quaternary Sciences – Alejandra Cartagena-Sierra
  • Graduate Advisor of the Year Award – Daniel Obrist, Ph.D.

DRI Faculty Retirement Awards:

  • Alan McKay, Ph.D. – 37 years
  • Rick Purcell – 36 years
  • Russ Cullison – 22 years
  • Barbara Zielinska, Ph.D. – 25 years

DRI Faculty promoted to Emeritus Status:  

  • Mary Miller
  • Barbara Zielinska, Ph.D.

DRI President's Medal Award

For media inquiries, please contact Justin Broglio, DRI’s Communications Officer at 775-762-8320.