The George Burke Maxey Fellowship

The George Burke Maxey Fellowship is a one-year award given to a current DRI graduate research assistant who is enrolled either in the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, or University of Nevada, Reno hydrology/hydrogeology graduate program pursuing discretionary research in water resources that will serve as the basis of his/her Master's thesis or Ph.D. dissertation.

This Fellowship was established through an endowment by Elizabeth West Stout, a paleontologist and trustee emerita of the DRI Research Foundation, who knew George Burke Maxey as a friend and colleague.

This Fellowship will be awarded on the basis of competitive proposals outlining the proposed research and work plan. The proposals will be evaluated by DRI Division of Hydrologic Sciences faculty on the basis of the following criteria: originality, completeness, documentation, professionalism, assessment of the prospects for successful completion of the research, and contribution to the science. The student's standing in the program may also be taken into account.

The proposal should not exceed 10 pages of double-spaced text (figures, tables, title page, and references do not count towards the 10-page limit). Suggested guidelines for proposal format include:

  • A title page including the name of your advisor and the name of the fellowship;
  • An introduction to the problem, including hypotheses that you have formulated;
  • A description of the objectives of the proposed work;
  • A description of the scope of work;
  • Anticipated results, and potential benefits (to both scientific and broader communities);
  • A timeline for the work;
  • A complete list of referenced work;
  • Figures and tables; and
  • Font size shall not be less than 10-point throughout and margins must be at least one inch on all sides.

Applicants must be a current DRI graduate research assistant with a DHS Faculty member serving as their principal advisor. A letter of support from the student's principal advisor, which should include a statement indicating the level of participation by the DHS Faculty member, must be included with the proposal. Acceptance of the Fellowship precludes similar significant research support from any division of the University of Nevada. A student may win this award only once per degree.

The award will be distributed by DRI in the form of a monthly stipend. The recipient will receive the benefits of a DRI Research Assistant during the 12-month period of the fellowship, including office space at DRI and use of the Institute's computer and laboratory facilities.

Previous Recipients

1988 Lisa A Shevenell
1989 Sean A McKenna
1990 Michael Nicholl
1991 Steve Acheampong
1992 Gregg Lamorey
1993 Bwire S. Ojiambo
1994 David A. Benson
1995 Hongbin Zhan
1996 Angela R. Varian
1997 David Eric Harlow
1998 William D. Howcroft
1999 Sean Kosinski

2000 Matt Herrick
2001 Mark B. Green
2002 Marija Grabasnjak
2003 Donald M. Reeves
2004 N/A
2005 Christopher Shope
2006 Farag Botros
2007 N/A
2008 Margaret Shanafield
2009 William Meyer
2010 Hal Voepel / David Smith
2011 Mustafa Eissa / Zach Johnson

2012 Jackson Crews
2013 Noah Fraser
2014 Laura Craig / Jamie Myers
2015 N/A
2016 Xueke Yang
2017 Khaled Pordel
2018 Kayla Neuharth
2019 Ahdee Zeidman



Submission and More Information

Proposals must be submitted electronically in a single PDF document to Maria Vasquez by April 1 to:

Maria Vasquez
Desert Research Institute
Division of Hydrologic Sciences
2215 Raggio Parkway
Reno, Nevada 89512

Reno:  775-673-7979
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

This website uses cookies
We use cookies to personalise content, provide social media features and  analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website. DRI Privacy Policy >>